User guide

Primary Network tab

Use these settings to connect initially to the primary Wi-Fi network or change primary network information. Connected devices must use the Wi-Fi settings shown on this screen.

WARNING! If you change these settings, existing connected devices may lose their connection.

Network Settings

Primary Network Name (SSID): Enter a primary network name (SSID) to set up or change the primary network name. The name can be up to 32 characters long.

Security: Select an option for Wi-Fi security:

  • WPA3/WPA2 Transition is the most secure method of Wi-Fi Protected Access and should be used, if possible, for WPA2 and WPA3 compliant devices.
  • WPA3 PSK can be used for WPA3 devices.
  • WPA 3 Open Enhanced provides encryption and privacy on open networks that are not password-protected and can be used for WPA3 devices.
  • WPA/WPA2 Mixed Mode can be used if some of your older devices do not support WPA2.
  • WPA2 AES PSK can be used for WPA2 devices.
  • Open allows others to monitor your Wi-Fi traffic and use your data plan to access the internet. NOTE: Avoid using this option.

Password: Enter a Wi-Fi password, or you can use the Generate New Password button. NOTE: The password must have a length between 8 and 63 characters and contain the following: upper-case letter, lower-case letter, digit, and special character. You can click the eye icon to view the password.

CAUTION! It is critical that you change the password from the default and use a different password from your Admin password to keep the device and your network secure.

Generate New Password: This button inserts a strong random password in the Password field.

You can click the eye icon to view the password.

Other Settings

Broadcast primary network name (SSID): When checked, this allows the Wi-Fi primary network to be displayed in the list of available Wi-Fi networks on your connected devices. If unchecked, this network is not visible to connected devices.

Wi-Fi privacy separation: Check this box to keep each connected device on this network isolated from all other connected devices. This provides additional security if some connected devices are unknown or not completely trusted. NOTE: For normal operation, this should be unchecked.

Select Save Changes.

In this article